Your Netflix account doesn’t just list the shows you have watched. It also recommends other TV series and movies based on what you lean towards. This useful feature enables you to keep track of what you’ve been watching and where you left off, saving you from time-consuming fast forwarding and episode skipping. However, there are many reasons you may want to consider deleting your Netflix history.
Anyone with access to your account can also see your viewing history, including friends and family you share with or the people you invite to ‘Netflix and chill’. And, while it recommends the best series and movies on Netflix for you, sometimes your viewing history doesn’t truly reflect the type of shows you want to watch in the future. If you often use a VPN, you may have also discovered that it doesn’t prevent your activity from being tracked and used by the Netflix algorithm.
Deleting your Netflix history can be a game changer when it comes to how you use the platform.
Why you should delete shows in your Netflix account history
Part of your profile is a record of the shows and movies you have watched. Your Netflix history is then used by the platform’s algorithm. As you browse the films and TV series on your homepage, recommendations come up based on what Netflix thinks you’ll enjoy.
Your homepage also has a “Continue Watching” section so you can keep track of shows you’ve started but haven’t had time to finish.
If you’re considering removing your Netflix history, here are a few reasons why you should.
#1 Most people share a Netflix account with people they are spending time with. So you may not want your new Netflix-and-chill buddy, your parents or your children to know you sobbed your way through The Notebook last night.
#2 If your tastes have changed, Netflix’s movie recommendations based on what you previously watched probably aren’t enticing anymore. Or maybe you just don’t want your homepage to be influenced by the algorithm.
#3 If you know what you like and what you don’t like, by selectively deleting your Netflix history you can use Netflix’s algorithm to help you customise the type of shows on your home page.
#4 If someone borrowed or accidently used your account, you may want to delete what they watched from your account’s viewing history.
What happens when you remove shows and movies you’ve watched on Netflix?
One by one or all at once, Netflix lets you decide how you want to remove the shows or movies you’ve watched. What you do on one device is conveniently reflected on your Netflix account with all other devices.
Once you have removed a movie or TV show, it will no longer appear in the “Continue Watching” section, your accounts viewing activity or be used by the Netflix algorithm’s recommendations.
Be careful though. Once removed, you won’t be able to quickly pick up where you left a show or film the next time you Netflix and chill. Keep in mind, your Netflix history cannot be recovered once deleted.
Having said that, even if you delete your history, Netflix will likely still keep a record of what you’ve watched.
Editing titles in the Continue Watching section on Netflix’s mobile app
#1 Open the Netflix app and sign in to your account.
#2 Find the Continue Watching section and the show or movie you want to delete.
#3 Tap the three-dot icon under the title and then Remove From Row and OK.
Turn deleting your Netflix history into a tool to help you find the best movies and shows for your next Netflix-and-chill night!
Get the latest events, stories and special offers
sent to your inbox.
By signing up, you'll receive our weekly newsletters and offers, which you can unsubscribe to anytime.